skip to Main Content


Washington D.C., January 12, 2021 — The Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute (CHCI) will honor newly elected and re-elected Hispanic members of the 117th Congress, and the officers of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus (CHC) with a Ceremonial Swearing-In on Thursday, January 14 at 7:00 pm (EST). The 117th Congress will include 38 members of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus (CHC), four of whom will serve in the U.S. Senate.

“Forty-five years ago, five visionary leaders of the Latino community came together to create the Congressional Hispanic Caucus,” said Marco Davis, CHCI President and CEO. “It is because of their dedication to uplifting our communities that we can come together, even in the midst of these deeply troubling and uncertain times, to recognize the increased Latino representation in Congress we have today, and honor the legacy of past generations. Our Hispanic Members are a testament to the democratic process we all hold so dear.”

Held in an all-virtual setting, the Swearing-In Ceremony will feature remarks by the transitioning CHC Chairs, U.S. Representative Joaquin Castro (2019-2020) and U.S. Representative Raul Ruiz, M.D. (2021-2022), and the transitioning CHCI Chairs, U.S. Representative Ruben Gallego (2019-2020) and U.S. Representative Nanette Diaz Barragán (2021-2022). The CHCI Chair also serves as First Vice Chair of the CHC. Special guests will include House Speaker Nancy Pelosi and Senate Minority Leader Charles E. Schumer.

Retired Justice, the Honorable Carlos R. Moreno will administer the oath to the Members and CHC officers. Moreno, a first-generation Mexican-American was the third Latino to serve on the Supreme Court of California until his retirement in 2011. Additionally, from 2014 to 2016, he served as the United States Ambassador to Belize. Sunny Hostin, Emmy Award-winning journalist, author, and co-host, ABC’s “The View” will serve as the event emcee. Los Gallos Negros, a Washington, DC-based collective of musicians, will perform a unique arrangement of the national anthem. Register here to attend. The ceremony will also be live streamed @CHCI on Facebook.

Hispanic members of the 117th Congress include:

Sen. Robert Menéndez (NJ)

Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto (NV)

Sen. Ben Ray Luján (NM)

Sen.-Designate Alex Padilla (CA)

Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard, (CA-40)

Rep. Nydia M. Velázquez (NY-7)

Rep. Grace F. Napolitano (CA-32)

Rep. Raúl M. Grijalva (AZ-3)

Rep. Linda T. Sánchez (CA-38)

Rep. Jim Costa (CA-16)

Rep. Henry Cuellar (TX-28)

Rep. Albio Sires (NJ-8)

Rep. Gregorio Sablan (MP)

Rep. Tony Cárdenas (CA-29)

Rep. Joaquin Castro (TX-20)

Rep. Raul Ruiz, M.D. (CA-36) Chair, CHC

Rep. Juan Vargas (CA-51)

Rep. Jimmy Gomez (CA-34)

Rep. Antonio Delgado (NY-19)

Rep. Veronica Escobar (TX-16)

Rep. Jesús G. “Chuy” García (Il-4)

Rep. Sylvia Garcia (TX-29)

Rep. Mike Levin (CA-49)

Rep. Filemon Vela (TX-34)

Rep. Pete Aguilar (CA-31)

Rep. Ruben Gallego (AZ-7)

Rep. Norma J. Torres (CA-35)

Rep. Nanette Diaz Barragán (CA-44), First Vice Chair, CHC; Chair, CHCI

Rep. Salud Carbajal (CA-24)

Rep. Lou Correa (CA-46)

Rep. Adriano Espaillat (NY-13), Second Vice Chair, CHC

Rep. Vicente Gonzalez (TX-15)

Rep. Jenniffer González-Colón (PR)

Rep. Darren Soto (FL-9), Whip, CHC

Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, (NY-14)

Rep. Michael San Nicolas (Guam)

Rep. Lori Trahan (MA-3)

Rep. Teresa Leger Fernandez (NM-3), Freshman Representative, CHC

Rep. Ritchie Torres (NY-15)

The Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute (CHCI) is the premier Hispanic nonprofit and nonpartisan 501(c)(3) organization in the country dedicated to developing the next generation of Latino leaders®. CHCI provides leadership, public service, and policy experiences to outstanding Latino/a/x students and young professionals, and convenes Members of Congress, other public officials, corporate executives, nonprofit advocates, and thought leaders to discuss issues facing the nation and the Hispanic community. Visit and follow us @CHCI on social media.


Maria Ibañez,